Nick Crow’s 7170 got a fancy skin, and here’s how it sounds!

I cut the old clip, there’s a new one now that shows what it can do much better in my opinion! I didn’t spend enough time on the last one and it came out muffled and poor.

Nick Crow 7170 is used for the rhythm track. I used LePou’s SoloC for the lead track to get a different sound so it wouldn’t get swallowed – my one disappointment with 7170 is that the midrange EQ controls don’t do much to the sound at all, which makes it difficult to dial in a lead tone that will sit well with a rhythm tone done by 7170. I had to use SoloC to make it distinct enough. Perhaps Nick will address this in a later update, I’d love to have an effective midrange adjustment and it would make 7170 that much more impressive.

Guitar is a Schecter C-1 Classic, JB humbucker in the bridge throughout. I run the guitar into a BBE Orange Squash compressor, which is a lovely and unintrusive compressor that has the effect of making the signal from the guitar very well balanced and enhancing its already great sustain, but without squashing the dynamics. From there it goes into my audio interface, and then…

Guitar Rig 3 provides its Noise Reduction module, best in the business – nothing other than that here
BTE Audio TubeScreamerSecret wakes the beast
Nick Crow’s 7170 (requietus skin) IS the beast
Aradaz OUR Cabinet Sim for the cab, about a 60/40 blend between Alu’s great Mesa 4×12 2 and Noa’s Soldano cab, second cab sample delayed by 2 samples to tighten up the highs and lows (this is my go-to setup these days when I need a quick cabinet sound – if I have more time I use Recabinet 1.05, anything you want is in there, but you can nail a tone down really quickly with Aradaz OUR so it’s a very handy tool).

Three rhythm tracks, one hard left, one hard right, one down the center, mixed to taste. I used T-Racks 3’s Opto comp for the center, Fairchild comp for the sides; one of its Pultec EQs on the mid, one on the sides; and its brickwall limiter to top it off and make it gel. On the freeware side of things, I used the delicious BootEQmkII on the center rhythm track to carve it up like I wanted it.

The lead track is a total one-off, I spent time on the rhythm and was just ready to get it done and posted by the time I got ready to record the lead. Hopefully you guys will dig it, I think this sim has a phenomenal sound and it’s totally free! The Peavey 5150 is one of the best loved high-gain heads and has been featured on countless albums, it’s a true metal workhorse and this qualifies upon release as one of the most impressive freeware high-gain amps around. Nick Crow’s done it again.

2 Responses to Nick Crow’s 7170 got a fancy skin, and here’s how it sounds!

  1. DigitalMan says:

    Wow, that was one powerful sound. What guitar were you using?

  2. DigitalMan says:

    Nevermind, I saw it.

Leave a Reply

