So we’ve basically moved into the in-laws’ until we move. Also, an explanation for my silence as of late.

I’ve finally moved over a bunch of recording equipment since this has changed from a short stay into a prolonged vacation. Sorry for the lack of substantial updates for the last couple of months, I’ve been having kind of a hard time getting back up on my feet and back in gear after the death of my grandmother and graduation – there was so much constant stress and pressure that I didn’t have time to slow down and think about everything that’s been going on lately, and as I’ve had time to unwind I’ve noticed some areas of my being that have been frayed by the stress. The process of working through things has kept me away from many of the fun things in my life, and my editor at Frugal could tell you I’ve been working right up to deadlines, too, something I don’t like at all. I am very sorry to my readers here and I assure you the blog is not dead. To prove it, in the next two days I intend to put up an interesting post of some kind, just to get back in the swing of things here. If you have any suggestions of something you’d like to see, knowing what software I have on the Home page, please let me know. I’m shelving the pedal shoot-out as too much to deal with right now and moving back to a more realistic, smaller scale update schedule so that I can hopefully pull myself back up into the right frame of mind. Help me out, guys and gals, I need y’all.

Best regards…
…Jeff

3 Responses to So we’ve basically moved into the in-laws’ until we move. Also, an explanation for my silence as of late.

  1. Dave Thomas says:

    look forward to the new stuff!

    We could do with a proper site to index and assimilate all the information and also, some howto’s and patchs…

    D.

  2. geareview says:

    Certainly fair comments. I’ve been trying to make use of the side bar widgets and other stuff here, but it would be easy to make just a new page up at the top, where everything is arranged in an easy-to-access format. I’ll work on that!

    How-to’s, definitely can do that. I think a lot of people would appreciate some instructional stuff, since using the software can be complex and it’s not always clear what things we need to remember from working with real gear, and what we need to forget or re-learn in the digital environment. I’ll try to think of some neat stuff I could show there. Maybe dig in to some of the advanced features of different modelers to show how they can sound.

    Patches, I intend to include patch downloads for everything that I record from now on. I wanted to do that earlier but didn’t have the time and hosting wasn’t consistent enough; these days there are a number of high-quality hosting services which are much less troublesome. I might buy some hosting of my own, actually, to serve some content from; that way I could be sure it wouldn’t be compromised later on, and given that patches and other things I post here are quite small I doubt I’d have bandwidth issues.

    Thank you very much for the comments and suggestions!

  3. Dave Thomas says:

    Perhaps something along the lines of getting a specific genre of music/band/album/song with commercial and free software might be cool.

    For example(hint hint)Take the latest Megadeth album United Abominations, what software would you need to get a sound similar to that or the band, or what approach would you use…

    I.e getting a list of equipment the band used, in this case it would be a Rocktron Prophesy II with marshal 100/100 poweramp. The Rocktron prophesy II is a hardware emulator itself but previously they used a Marshall JMP-1 so I suppose thats going to have a similar sort of sound too…

    Or would you simply try to match the sound from prior experience with the software.

    Also(I know this is getting along the lines of a forum post rather than a comment could do with a forum here…) I know you mentioned Noise gates and your preference to the one in guitar rig how do you set up you rig for optimal noise suppression…

    Cheers!
    Dave.

Leave a Reply

