Wampler Triple Recstortion and Amplitube X-Gear

This is one of my go-to patches for demoing gear, using components from Amplitube 2 and Amplitube Fender. Since it’s in the spirit of the series of posts I figured I’d remark a bit on it here. I’m using Amplitube 2’s Deluxe Memory Man model, and Amplitube Fender’s Twin RI and its matching cabinet, though I’ve adjusted the cabinet sim portion to run in parallel with two different microphones to capture the sound more “fully.” Not a big deal for cleans, but for distortion very important, especially for higher gain distortion; the sound at one mic position is very low-bandwidth otherwise, and usually too focused for my tastes. I’ll post the patch up tomorrow if anyone’s interested. I first made it for demoing the Marshall-in-a-Box pedals, and I figure why fix what isn’t broken! The premise is the same: if a pedal can make a Fender sound like a Marshall, it’s doing something cool. Here, if a pedal can make a Fender sound like a Mesa, it’s doing something cool.

This is a picture of the prototype. I’ll post a picture of my actual unit tomorrow; my wife and I couldn’t find our camera, it’s out in the car but it’s too dark to see so I’ll get it in the morning. The layout is identical but the color is not.

Wampler Triple Recstortion

I happened to get one in for an upcoming FrugalGuitarist feature I’ve got planned, a Mesa-in-a-Box roundup. This limited edition of 100 actually already sold out in the few days that it’s been available, but Brian replaced the order dialog on the web site with a comment box and the following statement:

quote:

No longer Available
Unfortunately, we have reached the limit of the temporary offer. If there is enough interest I may choose to make it part of the permanent pedal line.
Let us know your thoughts!

So if you like these clips, I suggest you go tell them that you would buy one if it were still available. I am definitely glad that I have mine, it’s got a great sound. I’ll be giving it a full review for Frugal in the coming weeks, but if you have any questions about it let me know and I’ll answer them as best I can.

Anyway, clips:

Signal path:

Schecter C-1 Classic -> Wampler Triple Recstortion -> EHX Deluxe Memory Man -> Fender Twin

Two clips. First a setting that was to my tastes and some tasteless wanking. The settings for this clip were Level to unity (by the way, there’s plenty of volume on this pedal, you won’t have trouble adjusting the output), Gain at 3 o’clock, Treble at slightly before noon, Midrange between 10 and 11 o’clock, Low Contour at 2 o’clock, “Modern” mode.

Second, adjusting the pedal through a bunch of different settings on the fly, including different EQ adjustments. I start on the Vint. mode and switch it to the Modern mode later in the clip. At the start the Gain is at its lowest setting.

5 Responses to Wampler Triple Recstortion and Amplitube X-Gear

  1. Dave Thomas says:

    Interesting… I like the second clip the best, the distortion sounds more natural, Its got a gnarly grittyness that I like…

    I think you can get a better feel for a sound when theres more lead playing involved, thats probably just me because I play more lead and am used to the sound in my head more…

    Ever though or building some of your own stuff?

    D.

  2. geareview says:

    Dave,

    I’ve found a lot to like about this pedal. I’m actually about to make a new post on the same pedal, which I rarely do but which I think is justified this time.

    I try to play a mix of rhythm and lead; without accompaniment I worry that lead will just sound silly and wanky, but frankly I don’t think I could come up with a little song for every clip that I post! I’m only human, after all šŸ™‚ So I hope that my mix of rhythm playing and some lead stuff gets the point across. I know I’m by no means the greatest guitarist around, I just have fun with it. I’m always practicing and trying to get better, but if I didn’t ever post anything until I was Yngwie, I’d never post anything at all, haha.

    As far as building my own stuff, actually I have thought about it. Frankly, though, I’m not an accomplished electrician. I am comfortable enough with a soldering iron to do all the work on my guitars, if only because I made a decision not long after I started playing that I wasn’t going to be one of those guys who doesn’t know his way around his instrument and has to pay a local shop or a tech to do everything for him; I learned how to do a full setup and how to work on the electronics of guitars. I can also do minor repairs for pedals or amps, say when a cap or a resistor is bad or a pot needs replaced. However I’m a long way from being comfortable building something sophisticated from scratch. I do plan to get into it at some point if only just for fun – I’ll hopefully be able to scrape enough spare change together to get a GeneralGuitarGadgets or IndyGuitarist kit to put together in the next month or two, and of course I’ll document the process on the blog, whether it’s successful or not.

    When I do get into actually designing my own pedals, my goal is to make sure that the whole process is open rather than secretive; I’d rather people be able to build their own if they like how something of mine sounds. However that’s purely a hypothetical for the time being, just my idea of how it should be done. So many builders get hung up on trade secrecy, gooping their pedals and just making it a hassle for everyone who isn’t content to leave the box shut most of the time. I like guys like Wampler, Barber, Paul Cochrane, and most bigger companies who aren’t out to obfuscate their designs. Their products are easy to work on as a result, and of course they have nothing to hide under goop. Sometimes it legitimately protects, in the very limited sense that it can be called protecting, a novel implementation; usually it hides a shamefully expensive clone!

    Best,
    Agreed

  3. Dave Thomas says:

    Will be interesting to hear the results of the experimentation, I intend to do the same thing but with small tube amps, that can be cranked without shattering the windows, maybe Ill document the process…

    The thing with pedals is that things are a whole lot cheaper to build than amps, I have buit a few things and once you start it is encouraging.

    As much as I enjoy the flexibility of modeling I struggle with my amp and modeling sometimes, I want a straight forward plug and play without all the tempera-mentality of computers and audio drop outs…

    D.

  4. geareview says:

    Well, unfortunately the best remedy for drop-outs is to throw money at it, in the sense that a more powerful CPU, faster/more RAM, a better motherboard and a better audio interface all make drop-outs less of a problem. HDD speed matters a lot too, not just rotational speed but the actual seek times and other real-world measures. I get occasional drop-outs with my wife’s laptop (which is sort of my porta-studio computer when she’s magnanimous enough to let me commandeer it); it’s an Athlon 64×2 based computer with two gigs of RAM and a pretty slow HDD. The reason that motherboards matter is because different motherboards can be equipped to handle USB differently. The better hardware will perform etter, of course.

    On my own studio computer, which I built last year and which is based on an Asus P5Q-E motherboard equipped with an Intel Q9550 quad-core and 8GB of DDR2 1033 and two WD 640GBs (which use only two platters for all of that data, and hence have seek times comparable to 10000RPM+ drives), I have no drop-outs ever. Literally never even one drop-out the whole time I’ve had it. I am running the CPU overclocked to a conservative 3.4GHZ, which is 600mhz/core; that’s on air, at stock voltage, idling at 27C and up to 50-53C at load. IntelBurnTest will run indefinitely, and Prime95 of course will too. People have safely managed overclocks of 1000mhz/core on air so I’m not really maxing this out at all, but in my book maintaining the warranty is important since I want as little downtime as possible if something goes wrong, and that means keeping the processor at stock voltage.

    My computer was definitely expensive, though significantly lower to build than to buy comparable hardware. But the reward has been utterly stable performance. Of course now there’s bigger and badder, that’s just how it goes, but this is still a monster for doing everything I do, and renders more than eight times as fast as the Athlon 64X2 laptop.

    Sorry for the tech jargon laden post. If you’re interested in upgrading your computer, I can point you toward very affordable builds which will provide the same degree of stability as my computer with nearly identical performance for virtually everything you’ll do – the first thing is to go with a Core 2 Duo rather than a quad or one of the new i7 processors, because none of the plugins we use multi-thread. More processors is great if you’ll be running a great deal of plugins at once or rendering large projects, but most of us are working with less data and need less horsepower… Bang for your buck can give you a lot of bang for surprisingly little buck.

    Anyway, hope this is at least somewhat applicable – my wife’s dragging me out the door to get some food šŸ™‚

  5. Stacco says:

    Let’s have tha Amplitube patch Jeff! (I still use your bi-valve into uni-valve one, although I got rid of most of the delay and reverb!)

Leave a Reply

