Added a new page to the site: Freeware Windows VST Master List

This one’s going to be available from the top bar for easy access.

I have a feeling this will become a popular page on the blog. Rather than have freeware links scattered throughout various postings, I thought, why not have a single list where I link to the collections or individual plugins that I have found most useful in my studio? There are other big freeware lists out there, but this one is for you if you particularly trust my opinion or something šŸ˜€

Seriously, though, here’s why this list is special: I’m only adding software with which I have had first hand positive experience, or received very strong recommendations from others. I’m not out to catalog the whole flora and fauna of the freeware world, but rather to hone down the information overload you get at a place like KVR or Rekkerd to a concise list of software that represents the best of the best in my experience.

Let me know what y’all think, and in general if you feel like I’m steering the blog in a good direction? I love feedback from regular readers and new readers alike, so please don’t hesitate to leave a comment… I appreciate it.

5 Responses to Added a new page to the site: Freeware Windows VST Master List

  1. Jason says:

    Fantastic idea. There are too many “free vst” sites with tons of crap. This will be my go to resource.

  2. Dave Thomas says:

    You may have to divide it up a bit if it gets any longer, nice to have that stuff in one place, I have looked through your list of gear used on the front page to remind me a few times.

  3. Dave Thomas says:

    You could do with a place to put suggestions…

    I think you would do some good how to articles on mixing and tracking with vsts etc, or setting up the fx banks in reaper etc, I need some fancy midi routing to switch between lead and rhythm rigs.

    D.

  4. geareview says:

    I am going to re-format the list, it’s big enough that there’s no good reason to have two categories where more make sense. Probably tackle that tomorrow.

    Adding a suggestion box now. I’ll consider doing more on mixing, but it’s largely an intuitive process for me and everyone has their own work-flow, it’s not a sure thing that the way I do things makes sense for others.

    You’ve been one of my most faithful readers and commentators, how do you feel the blog is coming?

  5. Dave Thomas says:

    I think its coming along great!, I enjoy reading the reviews and like commenting! Its nice to interact šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

