Working on some GR4 clips right now, might be tomorrow morning before I can upload them

Next week is intensive focus week, if there’s anything you want to hear make sure to let me know otherwise I’ll just wing it. I will, in accordance with recent reader requests, go into some detail on how I dial in patches with the software, and heck, I might even upload them for you to play with yourself.

5 Responses to Working on some GR4 clips right now, might be tomorrow morning before I can upload them

  1. SuperHowi says:

    Could you please just use plain amps, without any stomps or plugs infront of or after it. THANKS!

  2. geareview says:

    That’s how I always do it unless I expressly note otherwise. That’s why I give a full run-down of my signal chain when I post a clip 🙂

    There has been some misinformation about my methods on KVR, but it’s a lot of nonsense. I don’t think the people repeating the falsehood intended to mislead, I think they just misunderstood my process but it keeps getting said and it just isn’t true.

    Guitar -> DI -> Software being demonstrated, and that’s that, unless the point of the demo is otherwise and in that case I always make a big deal out of it being a certain different way. I always point out what’s in the signal path if there’s more to it than just the thing itself.

    I assume you’re asking for dry recordings too, then, without any of Guitar Rig 4’s own effects in? I’ll try to do a few of them so you can hear just the amp sounds. A lot of the beauty of Guitar Rig is in its effects, though, and since they added some new ones I’ll definitely be recording clips with the effects too.

    I’m considering some GR3 vs. GR4 A/B comparisons too, could be useful?

  3. SuperHowi says:

    “That’s how I always do it unless I expressly note otherwise. That’s why I give a full run-down of my signal chain when I post a clip :)”

    fine, then.

    “I’m considering some GR3 vs. GR4 A/B comparisons too, could be useful?”

    Very useful, because one is always easily fooled by one’s ears. The adopt pretty fast to worse condition, without giving you any clue it happened. The improvement can only be noticed in a comparison to its predecessor.

    Thanks for your blog!

  4. geareview says:

    Right, sense memory is pretty unreliable in general and we tend to be guided more by our guts (or, if there’s a price tag in sight, our eyes) than our brains when it comes to assessing relative quality… Starting with GR3 vs. GR4 will help make the rest easier because we’ll know whether the perceived improvements in GR4’s amp models can be substantiated. Because as it is, I perceive improvement, but I’ll be happy to put that to the test in a publicly useful way.

    And thank you for visiting 🙂

  5. Dave Thomas says:

    against the other big competitor would be usefull too, like TH-1 / Amplitube. The problem I have is sometimes theres only subtle differences, I find theres not a lot from free to compercial software apart from a bit of spit and polish 🙂

    D>

Leave a Reply

