GR3 vs. GR4: Vox

The amps are set at the edge of breakup; I play some clean chords and single notes with my JB in the bridge’s coil tap engaged for single coil mode, then switch it to humbucker mode for some more overdriven tones.

For these, I set the models up identically. Same input level, same settings on the models, using the default matched cab setting, same advanced settings, they are adjusted 100% identically. I should note that Guitar Rig 4’s one is louder, despite those things. I normalized the output on render, but did not use compression or limiting or anything like that; I just didn’t want anyone to be misled since we reliably consider “louder” to be “better.” This way they are at an even maximum volume and all you’ll hear are the differences in the two models/engines.

High-Q mode enabled.

Signal path is Guitar -> Rig Kontrol -> Guitar Rig.

Guitar Rig 3

Guitar Rig 4

More to come later, for now going to eat lunch with my wife 🙂

3 Responses to GR3 vs. GR4: Vox

  1. James says:

    The tonality sounds quite different to me. I wonder wherein the difference lies. The amp model, the cab, or both? I think it would be interesting experiment to run the GR3 amp into the GR4 matched cabinet.

  2. Dave Thomas says:

    fatter with more depth from a first hear…

  3. geareview says:

    James, great point. See my most recent post for how I will address that in the future. Thank you for bringing that to my attention.

Leave a Reply

