I know it’s been slow lately – life’s had some tough moments.

I apologize to everyone for the lack of substantial updates after Guitar Rig 4 week, but I do have more content coming down the pipeline and I’m going to try to respond directly to some of the suggestions in the next week. I’d like especially to do some bits on crafting patches, just explain my process when I’m trying to get a sound and try to go in-depth about certain decisions that can help achieve a natural sound for a given track. I’ll try to reference multiple programs and explain things in ways that make sense across platforms rather than just for this or that program.

I’ve got to get some stuff done tomorrow for Frugal, so there won’t be any new content perhaps until Monday or Tuesday, but then I’m going to get some good updates rolling. Thanks again to everyone for hanging tight. Also planned for next week is the sensible and intuitive restructuring I’ve been wanting to do to the freeware VST master list (with some new additions, as freeware community members have been busy and two great new free amp sims have been released – more on that Monday!) – and I’ve been watching some of the youtube channels I keep up with, so I’ll be adding some more cool demos to that page, as well.

I wish that I could spend time every day just making this blog happen, because it’s one of my favorite activities online and I love the interaction I get with you guys, but as you’re all well aware life makes its own demands. I try not to bog down my blogroll with personal issues, but trust me in that if I’m not updating, it’s not because I don’t want to, it’s because there’s other things taking my attention that I can’t ignore.

Best to you all, and I hope you’re looking forward to next week. πŸ™‚

4 Responses to I know it’s been slow lately – life’s had some tough moments.

  1. Dave Thomas says:

    I havent updated my blog for ages, I wouldent worry about it πŸ™‚

    Just a quick question about levels, I always seem to have the guitar coming in too loud compared with the drums from superior drummer, Im not talking about recording just playing along with the vst drums, which slider do you move? I dropped the one for the guitar at the top left track 1, but I have to drop it by -12db which seems a lot…?

  2. geareview says:

    That’s a pretty important consideration for the mix in general. First, you’re probably not going to want to have ALL of the guitar in the mix. You’ll need to cut some frequencies to give the drums room to do their thing. A highpass is pretty much necessary if you want to hear the lowest toms and kick come through (along with the bass guitar, for that matter); you’d be surprised how aggressively highpassed some of the heaviest tones you’ve ever heard are, given that to get a guitar to sound heavy on its own you typically want a nice, powerful punchy low end. But a lot of that gets EQ’d all around to fit the other instruments. Same goes with the high end, where you’re competing with (and losing to) the cymbals. It helps to have the drums on their own tracks so that you can individually adjust the level and panning of every piece, and I know EZdrummer has that feature so there’s no way Superior doesn’t.

    I find a good comp on the drums helps bring everything forward in a nice way for high-gain music. Try Density MkII with the Drums: Peak Polisher preset and tweak from there.

    And I also like a master bus comp, not doing a lot of squashing but just to help everything glue together better. It’s no replacement for good control over the dynamics of the mix, and it won’t sound good if you’ve got wildly varying levels of stuff, but once you’ve got a mix that sounds pretty darn good to your ears, try throwing a comp on the master bus (another good use for Density MkII, seriously one of the best comps I’ve ever used) non-aggressively to help put it all together.

    The downside is that it will compromise your dynamic range somewhat, but the upside is frankly rock music doesn’t really have a lot of dynamic range, especially not heavy metal, and relies more on tonal contrast than dynamic contrast for its tension (see: Opeth, Nevermore, Pain of Salvation, etc.; the “soft parts” aren’t really quieter than the loud parts, as such, but they still have a marked contrast). And you can bring back dynamic contrast through post-render automation; after all we shouldn’t give up dynamics completely just to have a nice mix.

  3. Dave Thomas says:

    Thanks for the info, Superior has some fx built in:
    “All new internal mixer featuring bussing capabilities and with built in FX delivered by Sonalksis such as:
    β€’ 5 Band EQ
    β€’ Highpass and Lowpass filter
    β€’ Gate
    β€’ Compressor
    β€’ Transient”

    I got 16 stereo outputs too :~ so there’s plenty to tweak…

    I think I’m going to have to read the manual (again) just to get the initial levels right too, I seem to get stuck on the simplest of things in reaper, I’m using the Stealth pedal as input it doest appear to have a volume just a 12db boost, which I have turned off.

    I appear to be using your blog as a message board now, sorry about that πŸ™‚

  4. geareview says:

    It’s a resource for the community of readers however they prefer to use it. You’re one of the most faithful readers as far as I can tell, I can count on you to comment and I enjoy dialog with you, especially if I can help πŸ™‚ Don’t worry about it!

Leave a Reply

