Review of AmpliTube 3 published over at FrugalGuitarist.com, check it out!

Alright, my review (I believe the first in the press, in fact) has been published, have a read here if you’re interested. Now to record some clips to show off what it can do. If there are any requests, I’ll be happy to fill them, otherwise it’ll just be up to my imagination. If you have anything you’re curious about, now’s the time to have your say and I’ll try to accommodate anything!

8 Responses to Review of AmpliTube 3 published over at FrugalGuitarist.com, check it out!

  1. eirik says:

    great review! Im really hyped about AT3, as I think it might be the best ampsim out there right now. (new king of tone;-)

  2. Dave Thomas says:

    Hi Jeff thought I would drop by, yeah that was a good review, I have been giving the software stuff a miss lately(too frustrating), getting back to my roots and going for a good amp!

  3. Dave Thomas says:

    bought myself a Blackstar Club 40 yesterday, its a really nice amp, it has an emulated cab output too so I will still use some vst for recording. πŸ™‚

  4. geareview says:

    Blackstar Club 40, yeah? I’ve heard good things, glad you’re enjoying it. Do you prefer the cab emulated output to running virtual amps, out of curiosity?

    I understand getting frustrated with software. I seem to have some kind of green thumb or whatever the equivalent would be, I can make the sounds I want with this stuff really quickly now… But it used to be a lot harder. Definitely something that I got better at with time and a lot of practice. And you really do have to have a good monitoring setup, if I were forced to do headphones only I would go nuts. I had to do headphones for a couple months before we moved out here, using pretty high end cans (Sennheiser HD-650s) and it was still a nightmare trying to translate what I was hearing to what everyone else would hear. Not very proud of the clips I recorded for reviews using them 😦

  5. Dave Thomas says:

    To be honest I haven’t tried the emulated output yet just enjoying playing for now. I haven’t made up any new track, riffs or anything up for ages, kind of got addicted to modifying my tone too much. It was too easy to get a bad sound out of my vsts (The best sound I did get was with Metal Amp Room) where as with the new amp I cant seem to dial in a bad sound.

  6. geareview says:

    Feature overload can be a big deal. I’ve been accustomed to having a lot of sounds for a long time though – before I got into modeling, I was a pedal guy. Still have 20 odd dirt pedals. Haha. Crazy but true.

    Whenever you get around to it I would love to hear a clip of it with the cab sim out, though. No rush or anything. And glad to see you’re still stopping by, I know it’s slow around here.

  7. Jon says:

    Nice review! I’d be curious to hear examples of your “cello-like sounds”!

  8. geareview says:

    Thanks very much for the compliment πŸ™‚ I’ve been slow getting clips up but busy working on patches to record them, expect some good demos soon for the review (mirrored here, as usual), and patches here on the blog too!

Leave a Reply

